Post by Truckinsp Post by Lynne
If you are caught violating HOS, are you required to pay the fine on the
If this is true, what happens to you if you cannot pay?
I had always assumed you'd be handed a ticket.
Thanks In Advance
Depends on the state.....what you are required to pay up front is the
appearance bond.....when you get the citation, it will have on it a court
date....set from 1 week to 3 weeks in the future. Normally if you do
not choose to see the judge, i.e. don't appear in court before the date
on the citation, the appearance bond will be accepted as the fine.....if
you do see the judge and he determines you not guilty, the appearance
bond is returned to you....
My judge insists that I take cash for the appearance bond because it is
so hard to track down truck drivers if they do not appear......if they do
not have the cash, he insists that I take them to jail.....and he has
chewed me out twice now because I took a partial appearance bond instead
of the full amount....but in both times, the driver did not have the full
amount.....and in both instances, he has mailed the truck driver a letter
requiring the rest of the money or he will issue a warrant.....
Precisely why the CDL program was started. To help make it easier to track
You have his license number, the company he works for, how difficult could
it be to track him down?
Most company drivers don't carry hundreds of dollars in cash on them.
The last time I had to pay an "appearance bond", the scales took my visa
card with no problem.
Many of the more modern scale houses do.
Then what's wrong with using comcheck or t-check? Same as cash.
Since you refuse to even admit which state it is you work for, no one can
say for sure you really are an officer.
But if you are, I have narrowed it down to New Mexico, Colorado, Wyoming or
Now be honest with me for once, we have met face to face at least once
before haven't we?